Thailand will be introducing a new e-visa system for arriving travelers from 20 countries next month.

The e-visa service will allow travelers to apply online for entry to Thailand on, and upload the necessary, and pay for the visa processing fee. Mastercard, Visa, Union Pay, Wechat Pay or Alipay can be used to pay for the processing fee.

The service - introduced by Thailand’s Immigration Bureau – will be available for travelers entering Thailand from 20 countries: China, India, Andorra, Bulgaria, Bhutan, Cyprus, Ethiopia, Fiji, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Papua New Guinea, Romania, Marino, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine, Uzbekistan to Taiwan. While the visa applications will be handled by Dubai-based technology company VFS Global, Thailand’s Immigration Bureau will check all documents submitted before asking for payment.

Thailand’s new e-visa system will replace the former method after complaints were made with the old system including failing to give notifications and declined payments.

Travelers from the 20 countries eligible to use the service can use the visa to enter Thailand at Bangkok’s Survarnbhumi and Don Mueang airports, Phuket, and Chiang Mai.

Related Content

How to Travel to the Philippines (Without Flying Through Manila)

The "Emerald Isle" of Vietnam

Taiwan Taoyuan Airport launches free luggage delivery service