With a surge of cases of Coronavirus (COVID-19) infections, the Philippine government has imposed a suspension of domestic travel within the Philippines covering flights to/from Manila.

In an address to the country, Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte announced the disease alert level of the country was raised to “Code Red Sublevel 2” which will see access to/from Manila restricted for 30 days starting March 15.

The travel restrictions are expected to be in place until April 14, as the city of Manila will be under a “community quarantine," covering land and sea travel along with commercial aviation.

Along with the domestic travel restrictions, the Philippine government will ban the entry of foreign nationals from countries with confirmed localized transmission of the virus. The exemptions to this policy are Filipino citizens, permanent residents, and Philippine diplomatic visa holders.

The travel restrictions will impact the major Philippine domestic carriers such as Philippine Airlines, Cebu Pacific, and Philippines AirAsia. Philippine Airlines and Cebu Pacific have announced customers can rebook or cancel their travel plans without fee.

Related Content

Indonesia AirAsia X to Cease Scheduled Operations in January

Air Asia X Increases Flights to Hawaii

Safest Airlines of 2019