As the Philippine capital of Manila starts its lockdown, the city of Cebu in the central Philippines will impose its own restrictions on travel from select cities in the country along with international arrivals at the Mactan-Cebu Airport.

In an executive order from Cebu's Governor's office, the city will prohibit flights from Legazpi, Clark, Cagayan de Oro, and Dumaguete for 30 days. The cities in this flight ban have reported Coronavirus (COVID-19) cases, and will be expanded to all parts of the country starting March 16.

“There is a necessity to support efforts of Metro Manila in order to further suppress the spread of COVID-19,” read Cebu Governor Gwendolyn Garcia’s executive order, issued Saturday to enforce the inbound travel ban.

While no restrictions have been placed on international travel, travelers from Spain, Italy, and Iran will be subject to a 14-day mandatory quarantine.

Related Content

How to Travel to the Philippines (Without Flying Through Manila)

The "Emerald Isle" of Vietnam

Taiwan Taoyuan Airport launches free luggage delivery service