Indonesia is barring the entry of visitors from 14 countries to curb the spread of the Omicron variant.

Reported by the Jakarta Globe and Coconuts Indonesia, a recent advisory issued by Indonesia's COVID-19 Task Force on January 6 listed the countries affected including: South Africa, Botswana, Norway, France, Angola, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Eswatini, Lesotho, the United Kingdom (UK), and Denmark.

The ban applies to arrivals from countries and territories based on three criteria with the first related to countries with confirmed community transmission of the Omicron variant (South Africa, Botswana, Norway, and France). The second criteria included countries close to the countries with community transmission of Omicron (Angola, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Eswatini, and Lesotho. The last criteria stated were jurisdictions with over 10,000 confirmed Omicron cases (the UK and Denmark).

Previously, travelers coming from countries with high Omicron risk were required to quarantine for 10 days after arrival.

Indonesians returning from the 14 listed countries will be required to undergo the 10-day quarantine.

All other arrivals – foreign and Indonesians – from other countries must quarantine for seven days.

Related Content

How to Travel to the Philippines (Without Flying Through Manila)

The "Emerald Isle" of Vietnam

Taiwan Taoyuan Airport launches free luggage delivery service