China Southern has announced new restrictions for travelers transitting to China from 38 countries, and requirements bound for Guangzhou from Paris.

In an advisory on China Southern's website posted on January 10, the airline is suspending the transport of passengers and the transit to China from 38 countries in Africa, Asia, Europe, and Latin America starting January 11.

The countries affected are as follows (by region):

Africa – Ghana, Guinea, Ethiopia, Tanzania, Cameroon, Cte d' Ivorie, South Africa, Nigeria, Egypt, Mozambique, Algeria, Uganda, Congo (DRC), Sudan, Djbouti, Senegal, Zambia, Bostwana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi Namibia, Zimbabwe

Asia – India, Philippines, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Kazakhstan

Europe – Russia, Serbia, Belarus

Latin America – Suriname, Guyana, Mexico

Paris-Guangzhou (CZ348)

Along with the new inbound travel restrictions anounced, China Southern will only accept passengers from select countries on its Paris-Guangzhou flights (CZ348).

The countries that travelers will be accepted on CZ348 include: Ukraine, Luxemburg, Germany, Denmark, Spain, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Sweden, Greece, Italy, Andorra, Netherlands, Belgium, Austria, Romaia, St. Helena (UK), Portugal, Ireland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Poland, Finland, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Malta, Montenegro, Slovenia, Monaco, Macedonia, San Marino, and France.

China Southern notes that France excludes overseas departments and regions along with its overseas territories.

Passengers transiting to Paris for CZ348 will be required to take a direct flight from their orign country to Paris-Charles de Gaulle Airport for the onward connection to Guangzhou.

Los Angeles – Guangzhou(CZ328)

China Southern also clarified its current requirements for travelers bound for Guangzhou from Los Angeles on CZ328, which have been in place since December 17, 2021.

Travelers bound to Guangzhou from Suriname, Guyana, and Mexico will be able to transit to China via Los Angeles provided they complete epidemic prevention and control requirements set by the local Chinese embassy, and obtain a valid health code.

Passengers may also be permitted to travel on CZ328 if they stay in the United States (US) for more than 14 days, and obtain a health code from the Chinese Consulate-General in Los Angeles.

The airline has advised travelers to check with their local Chinese embassy or consulate for transit to China from a third country.

Related Content

Indonesia AirAsia X to Cease Scheduled Operations in January

Safest Airlines of 2019

Air Asia X Increases Flights to Hawaii