Hong Kong is banning transit of travelers from over 150 countries and territories for a month as part of efforts to reduce the spread of the Omicron variant of COVID-19.

In a recent advisory from the Hong Kong International Airport, the ban will apply for passengers who have stayed in the over 150 countries deemed as “high risk” during the previous 21 days. The ban will be effective January 16 to February 15.

Among the countries included in the transit ban are Group A countries of Australia, India, France, Germany, Japan, the Philippines, Singapore, the United States (US), and the United Kingdom (UK). The latest entry to the list will be Kyrgyzstan, which its Group A classification will take into effect on January 16.

The transit ban will not apply to travelers from countries not on the Group A list which includes Mainland China and Taiwan.

While non-Hong Kong residents will not be allowed to enter the city, fully-vaccinated Hong Kong residents can board a flight to Hong Kong. Upon arrival, Hong Kong residents must undergo a 21-day quarantine and a series of COVID-19 tests including one on the 26th day after arrival in the city.

Related Content

How to Travel to the Philippines (Without Flying Through Manila)

The "Emerald Isle" of Vietnam

Taiwan Taoyuan Airport launches free luggage delivery service