With the Omicron variant of COVID-19 present around the world, Indonesia is abolishing its previously set travel ban from 14 countries deemed high risk.

Citing economic considerations, Indonesia's COVID-19 Task Force reversed the ban that was announced on January 6.

The 14 countries that were affected included South Africa, Botswana, Norway, France, Angola, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Eswatini, Lesotho, the United Kingdom (UK), and Denmark.

The task force further added that because the Omicron variant has been spread to over 150 countries, the travel ban was ultimately futile.

“If we maintain travel restrictions by countries, it will disturb cross-border travels and eventually impede the national economic recovery,” Indonesia's COVID-19 Task Force spokesman Wiku Adisasmito said in a statement.

With the lifting of the ban, all international arrivals to Indonesia will be required to undergo a 7-day quarantine.

Related Content

How to Travel to the Philippines (Without Flying Through Manila)

The "Emerald Isle" of Vietnam

Taiwan Taoyuan Airport launches free luggage delivery service